Handcuffed by Destiny Series (Crawley Creek #6) by Lori King



Title: Handcuffed by Destiny
Series: Crawley Creek #6
Author: Lori King
Genre: Contemporary Western Romance
 Release Date: August 23, 2016



A broken woman… After being kidnapped, tortured and surviving the brutality of human traffickers, Destiny Warren still finds every day a struggle. Every single minute she works to overcome her injuries, both visible and hidden. Despite her overpowering fear, she finds herself drawn to her rescuer, Brandon Bowers.A man of honor… Bran Bowers was raised by his grandmother with a sense of responsibility and a serious demeanor. He’s spent his life working for everything he has, but Mother Nature and fate seem to be taking turns dealing his cards lately. Between a flash flood that wiped out his home, and a beautiful woman who’s scared to accept his protection, Bran has to roll up his sleeves and take a stand.

A mountain to climb… They say that love conquers all, but can it also overcome the horrors of PTSD? Destiny isn’t sure she can let Bran in, but she can’t seem to let him go. Will Bran walk away knowing he can never know her completely, or is he handcuffed to his own destiny?

**Note from the author: This story reflects on a woman’s victimization at the hands of terrible people. Possible triggers are involved in the storyline and thus should be taken into consideration.


Purchase Links







It has been 9 months since Destiny was rescued and she is still having a difficult time adjusting. Every morning she wakes up with nightmares of her experience. Very few details of her captivity are shared except that she was abducted and abused and the people who harmed her have not been brought to justice.

Brandon “Bran” Bowers is the Sheriff who found and rescued her and is still drawn to her. He isn’t sure he should pursue her since she is still so fragile and he is afraid of making things worse. Finally his friends suggest that it is time and that she seems interested in him. Turns out they do click, but it is enough to overcome their pasts?

Unfortunately I have to admit that I did not read the earlier books (since it wasn’t suggested) and as a result I was a bit lost with all the characters and how they were connected. I think to really enjoy the story and not be distracted by trying to put the pieces together they do need to be read in order. For example, not sure what happened to cause her to be abducted a second time. And there was a burn victim…not sure how that story line fit. The plot seemed a bit disjointed for me hence the 4 star rating. There was a crash course of character intros around the dining room table that tried to fill things in, but it didn’t answer everything. Overall I did like the interaction between Destiny and Bran and how they both worried about hurting each other. The way Bran was patient with her fears was genuine and sweet. I would like to read the rest of the series. There are unresolved events at the end of this book….a cliffhanger if you will, so there will be more to come.

I was provided a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Reviewed by Sharon

LLEP Review Team


Also Available



Crawley Creek Series
By: Lori
In a small town in North Dakota there resides a family of misfits on the Crawley Creek Ranch. Brought together by hardship, and heartache they’ve bonded without blood ties, and seek to help others. Four brothers who’ve walked both sides of the line, and come out stronger for it, but will they survive love, loss, and the law?

Beginnings (Prequel)


Forget Me Knot (Book 1)


Rough Ride Romeo (Book 2)


Claiming His Cowgirl (Book 3)



Sunnyside Up (Book 4)



Hawke‘s Salvation (Book 5)


Author Bio

Lori King is the author of more than twenty five Amazon best-selling romance novels, as well as a full-time wife and mother of three boys. Although she rarely has time to just enjoy feminine pursuits; at heart she is a hopeless romantic. She spends her days dreaming up Alpha men, and her nights telling their stories. An admitted TV and book junkie, she can be found relaxing with a steamy story, or binging in an entire season of some show online. She gives her parents all the credit for her unique sense of humor and acceptance of all forms of love. There are no two loves alike, but you can love more than one with your whole heart.With the motto: Live, Laugh, and Love like today is your only chance, she will continue to write as long as you continue to read. Thank you for taking the time to indulge in a good Happily Ever After with her.

Author Links

Comments Welcome!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s